In defence of Rafael Nadal

Rafa Nadal

In light of Nadal’s doping allegations, I feel like a post about him is in order. Nadal is my favourite sportsman, my favourite tennis player, my favourite non-actor (and non-British) celebrity.

And he is clean. Of course. Someone of Rafa’s humble demeanour, fiery determination to win and yet unshakable moral compass is utterly trustworthy.

I’m glad he’s going to sue. He should sue the hell out of everyone who is ignorant enough to accuse him.

My love for tennis started back in about 2012, when I was stuck indoors in China for a month in the middle of winter, with no wifi or books (that I could read, anyway). Imagine my delight when the Australian Open was broadcasted – I spend every night watching, and yet for some reason I’d only ever see Djokovic’s matches. Which, naturally, made me like Djokovic. I am rather ashamed to admit that I supported Djokovic in that record-breaking 2012 final. I still like him, but how much greater would that victory be in the hands of Nadal?

Fast forward to Australian Open 2014. I watched Nadal play for the first time ever, and he was mesmerising. People often ask me ‘Why Nadal?’ so this is my reply: because of his passion. Those ferocious forehands and the determination to chase after every ball, as though his spirit were made of fire. His burning resolve to win, the cold murderous rage in his eyes on court and hisĀ  adorable smiles of triumph at the end. I would throw everything away to just see him smile.

It pains me to see the struggles that Rafa has been through in 2015, continuing into 2016. Sure, it wasn’t his best year. But nobody is more disappointed than himself, and yet the media and fans of the other “Big 4” players constantly attack him. Sure, he didn’t win any Grand Slams, but he is already the King of Clay and a 14 time Grand Slam champion and has nothing more to prove. The only reason 2015 is perceived as a ‘decline’ is because he had set the standard so high.

In January this year I had the incredible chance to watch Rafa play live at the Fast 4 Tennis exhibition. He played singles against Lleyton Hewitt (and lost) and doubles with Gael Monfils against Hewitt and Nick Kyrgios (and won!). It was amazing to see him live – for the first time I could appreciate the incredible skill and talent that tennis requires.

I was also privileged enough to be one of the first standing against the barrier as Rafa finished his match. Just the previous day I had bought his semi-autobiography (titled Rafa, of course) and I was so incredibly lucky that he adores his fans so much and came for an autograph.

After that, I figured I’d better read it. It’s a semi-autobiography because he wrote half of it, and his biographer John Carlin wrote the other half – the chapters alternate between the two. It starts off describing the ethereal silence of Wimbledon, and through a series of flashbacks depicts his early life and the most significant wins of his career.

And it. Is. Amazing.

Rafa writes with poise and elegance, and with a style that keeps you on the edge of your seat and transports you to the arena. He has some of the most incredibly poetic lines, and also his self-reflections take you to the heart of who he is. The way he describes the shots of any game is almost more intense than watching the game itself – his style is a blend of his blazing energy mixed with the maturity of his humility.

After reading it, I feel like I have gained a deep insight into Rafa, not only as a tennis player, but as a person. The two are inseparable and yet rarely intersect. And anyone who has read it will know why Rafa will never bring in a new coach, why the 2015 decline doesn’t matter, and why he never has and never will dope.

I will cheer him on in every match, now and forever, whether his opponent is ranked in the hundreds or in the top 10. I will celebrate his every victory like it’s my own and feel bitterly disappointed by every loss (especially that first round loss to Verdasco in the Australian Open this year – that hit hard), but in the end I will remember that it’s his life to live and he can do what he wants with it.

Vamos Rafa.

Leave a comment