Paris

Hello Paris, city of lights
Where metal tower reaches the sky
Where boats pass through famous streams
That glitter like aquamarines

DSC_0018.JPG

This proud city welcomes me
After flights of eternity
Yet blue-capped buildings tug at me
Like long-forgotten memories

DSC_0021.JPG

A city steeped in history
Head held high against enmity
Laneways crammed with enticing smells
Tree-lined streets hold me under a spell

DSC_1389.JPG

I am a traveller from distant lands
I come from shores of marble sand
For years I’ve seen your city gleam
And seen your sights through naught but screens

DSC_1368.JPG

But now I walk these ancient streets
Down winding alleys on unwearying feet
Your rolling language on halting tongue
Your three colours on flagpoles hung

DSC_1370.JPG

Hello Paris, city of love
You are my home for the next few months
Each morning I’ll look onto blue-capped roofs
And of my blessings, this is proof.

[Written 22/6/16 in my hostel lobby]